Carrot Fries


Carrot Fries

IMG_2079

I still have some carrots in my fridge from last fall, so it is time to really start to using before the fresh ones come in a few months. I wanted to make some fries and looked at various recipes, and then narrowed it down to a couple different methods and here are the results from those testings.

First you have to decide if you want to fry or bake. I tried a small batch each way and I have to say the crispiness of fried is my favorite. It has the crunch that I expect in a fry. It is important to have the oil hot enough and fry till they are golden. When baking they can still have the crunch but not nearly as much as when cooked in oil.

Here is the recipe, adjust to the amount of fried you want to make. I found this recipe for fried zucchini sticks and thought why not carrots? Eggplant? Beets? http://acozykitchen.com/zucchini-fries/ baked their fries. I did one small batch just to try it.

You will need a bag of precut carrots that cut into sticks or use fresh carrots. I do not peel my homegrown carrots. Cut into thin french fry like sticks, I did by hand as I only made one plate.

Here is how you bake Carrot fries:

They need to be coated with egg whites or whole eggs beaten. I prefer egg whites. Then dredge in the flour or bread crumbs you chose. Be sure to season with some salt and pepper and maybe some dried herbs like thyme or a seasoning blend.

Pre-heat oven to 475 degrees, Add about 2-3 tablespoons oil of your choice, coconut (good with heat), canola, safflower. Spread evenly in pan.

There are several ideas on what to coat the carrots with. Garbanzo bean flour, rice flour, All-purpose flour and panko crumbs.  I chose rice flour for baking and panko crumbs for frying. See what you have on hand or go give one of the above a try.

Dip the sticks in the eggs first then breading then lay in oiled pan. Bake until almost tender, anywhere from 6-8 minutes. Watch carefully. Then switch the oven to broiler and broil for 5-7 minutes or until nice and crispy. Let cool and eat! Watch carefully so the carrots do not burn.

To fry the carrots:

Use a large soup pan, deep fryer or high side electric frying pan. Add oil of your choice such as safflower, canola or coconut. Put a good amount of oil in, at least 3-inches. Heat oil to 350 degrees.

Using the same method of dipping in eggs, breading or crumbs then lay carefully in oil, do not crowd the pan, then let cook until golden. Take out of oil with strainer spoon, lay on a paper towel covered plate. Season with seasoning as they come out of pan. Fry in batches until done.

You could cut the carrots into coins or really thin slices with a mandolin or food processor. Do not dip them in any breading, just fry like potato chips! Yummy!!

I did not make a dip as I like to eat just plain fries. But a creamier dip with sour cream, yogurt or mayo type would seem to work very well with the carrot fries.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

