Pea Pesto


I just had to make a pea pesto. I have only made it once and liked it a lot, so thought why not try another recipe and mint is readily available in my garden. My favorite is the spearmint I got from Shady Acres herb farm, it has given me a lot of mint through the years and spearmint seems to taste better in cooking for me.

Pea Pesto

Ingredients:
1 cup peas * use fresh garden if possibe and make sure they are peeled from the pod of course!
2 tablespoons mint
2 tablespoons almonds *toasted
2 tablespoons pecorino cheese (grated, or parmigiano)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon lemon zest
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Mix everything in a food processor or with a mortar and pestle.
Serve on whole wheat penne pasta or for leftovers, just spread on a crostini for an appetizer or snack,

Come taste this pesto in my cooking class this Sat. Email me at cjinspirations@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

